Ask AI Assistant
Learn Centre
Learn to use PocketSmith

Pickle warnings

Learn about our Pickle warnings and when you might run into one.

PocketSmith is intentionally highly customisable as we understand that our users have their own way of using PocketSmith that best suits them.

Instead of limiting the customisation available to users, we have created Pickle warnings to let you know if you are veering away from our general recommendations, which pop up with tips to help you avoid ending up in a pickle. You are then guided to more information so you can make a more informed decision if you choose to continue as you intended.

Current Pickle warnings

Future-dated transactions

If you enter a manual transaction for a date in the future, you will see a pickle warning show up that looks like the one below.

Notion image
 

We recommend using budgets instead. For more information on why we recommend budgets instead, please see: Using budgets instead of future-dated transactions.

If you would like to continue with adding a future-dated transaction despite the risk of issues that might be created as a result, you can choose to Create anyway.

Adding multiple budgets to the same category

If you attempt to add a budget to a category that already has one, a Pickle warning will show to let you know the details of the existing budget.

Notion image
 

For more information as to why we do not recommend multiple budgets on a category, please see: Why we don't recommend having multiple concurrent budgets per category.

If you would like to continue despite this warning, then choose Create anyway.

Duplicate accounts with a feed

If you have two feeds for the same bank, and you attempt to link an account that is already set up within your PocketSmith, then a Pickle warning will show.

In the example below, there was already a feed set up for the bank Hooli with the bank account Hooli Awards Card linked. When a second feed for Hooli was created, and the same already existing Hooli Awards Card bank account was attempted to be linked, the Pickle below pops up:

Notion image

Turning off Pickle warnings

If you do not want to view a particular warning again, tick the option shown before clicking Create anyway.

Notion image
 
 
 
 
Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
🤩